Charity for Vanity!


If I am not for myself, who will be for me? If I am not for others, what am I? And if not now, when?‘ – Rabbi Hillel

One of the office boys was fired recently and a friend took it upon him to collate some funds to help out the poor guy and his family. When he walked over to my desk to ask for my contribution, the 1st question that came out of my mouth was “How much are others paying?”

 I eventually put in an average amount, but it set my mind thinking of how we view charity in general and how our vanity drives what we do in front of others, rather than just doing it for the right reasons.

Makes me ponder whether these so called charitable personalities would actually be running around distributing their money if no one was watching? Or for that matter, all the reality show contestants who promise to part away their winnings for world causes?

‘True charity is the desire to be useful to others without thought of recompense’ – Emanuel Swedenborg

« »

Leave a Reply

